Username: Password:
  Create an account Home  ·  Game Manager  ·  Forums  ·  Your Account  
Login
Username

Password

Don't have an account yet? You can create one.

Site Sections
· Home
· Game Manager
· Forums
· Private Messages
· Your Account

Game Manager
· Your games
· Waiting games
· Create new game
· Running games
· Completed games

Recent News

MaBiWeb: Forums

MaBiWeb :: View topic - Bug? Move knights, with knights available.
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Bug? Move knights, with knights available.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> In the Shadow of the Emperor
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
purplewurple



Joined: Apr 11, 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:58 am    Post subject: Bug? Move knights, with knights available. Reply with quote

In game 33699 I want to move one of my knights. I could place a new one, as I still have a knight available. But I would rather move a knight, to free the space for another player to move their knight. The game doesn't let me do this. The only option it gives me is to place my available knight.

According to my copy of the rules, a player is free to choose if they want to place a new knight or move a knight on the board.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sigh... I implemented it in this way because I couldn't imagine a case where a player would prefer moving a knight rather than placing a new one, and it must be a rare case indeed because you are the first to complain after 900 games played :(.
You are right, it should be considered a bug and it should be fixed, but I had a quick look at the code and changing it now is not trivial, so it could take a few days before I find the time. Sorry about your current game, I'm afraid you will have to place your last knight.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
purplewurple



Joined: Apr 11, 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thanks!

It is probably a rare case; I've only played a few games of ItSotE, so I wouldn't know how often this comes up. In this case it's the difference between having a shot at a shared victory, and, well, not. So thanks for looking at it!

Oh and don't worry about my current game :) I'm gonna place that knight now.


Oh, and thanks for this fantastic site! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I have changed the code and now with the knight action it's always possible to move a knight already on board, even if you still have knights in your reserve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> In the Shadow of the Emperor All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Forums ©

 
MaBiWeb copyright 2006 by MaBi
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi.
Page Generation: 0.03 Seconds