Username: Password:
  Create an account Home  ·  Game Manager  ·  Forums  ·  Your Account  
Login
Username

Password

Don't have an account yet? You can create one.

Site Sections
· Home
· Game Manager
· Forums
· Private Messages
· Your Account

Game Manager
· Your games
· Waiting games
· Create new game
· Running games
· Completed games

Recent News

MaBiWeb: Forums

MaBiWeb :: View topic - rules: not enough cubes
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

rules: not enough cubes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> Ur
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
astroglide



Joined: Apr 20, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:44 pm    Post subject: rules: not enough cubes Reply with quote

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/182342

in the mabiweb implementation, one has to be able to satisfy the entire action or no cubes can be placed. this seems odd to me, especially with actions that use terms such as "up to" regarding placement.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:51 pm    Post subject: Re: rules: not enough cubes Reply with quote

astroglide wrote:
in the mabiweb implementation, one has to be able to satisfy the entire action or no cubes can be placed.

Why do you say so? Which action are you referring to? In all cube-adding actions (Agriculture, Culture and Commerce) if you don't have enough cubes for the entire action you can just place those you have, choosing where to place them. At least I implemented it this way, if you have a game behaving differently tell me the ID because it's a bug.
Or maybe I misunderstood your post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
astroglide



Joined: Apr 20, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i didn't see the selection choice, but i believe i have run into a bug on game id 11140. if i choose agriculture, 3 can be placed but i only have 1. i click c3 to add it, and afterward my only available action is to reset my turn. i can't confirm the action or move onto another.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just checked and it seems to work for me.
You actually have 2 cubes to place (the second one is the cube removed from F5) and I can place both of them, and the Agriculture action finishes and it gives me the choice to execute War.
Just after you click the Agriculture action you should see 2 cubes in your reserve, and you should see your 3 agriculture tiles highlighted in blue and clickable. I've tried and I can't see any problem.
Could you check again? What do you see in the 'Available moves' box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
astroglide



Joined: Apr 20, 2006
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, you got me. i didn't realize that 1 was being removed as part of the action, and that i had 2 to place. no error, sorry for the disturbance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
beri



Joined: Jul 21, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

something doesn't follow the rules exactly, though: the latter say that when you play agriculture, you can place up to 2 tokens on your agriculture tiles.
in your version, we don't have the choice to place 0 or 1, it automatically places 2 tokens on each agric tile

have you planned to modify this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teuf



Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you can place 0 or 1 tokens on your agriculture tiles only if you don't have enough tokens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Teuf



Joined: Jul 09, 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beri seems to be right.
On the FAQ (Compiled by Paolo Mori himself), we can read

Q. If I do not have enough pieces for placing two tokens on each agriculture tile I own, can
I decide where to place them?
A. The rules state than you can place "up to two tokens" on each agriculture tile, so you
are allowed to place 0 or just 1 token on certain tiles.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 925
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

beri wrote:
something doesn't follow the rules exactly, though: the latter say that when you play agriculture, you can place up to 2 tokens on your agriculture tiles.
in your version, we don't have the choice to place 0 or 1, it automatically places 2 tokens on each agric tile

have you planned to modify this?

I could easily change the action but I implemented it this way, with automatic placement of 2 cubes, because usually that is what you want to do, and it is much more conventient than having to click twice on each agriculture tile. But I will consider adding an alternate way to choose agriculture action, with manual placement of cubes. Thanks for pointing this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> Ur All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Forums ©

 
MaBiWeb copyright 2006 by MaBi
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi.
Page Generation: 0.04 Seconds