Username: Password:
  Create an account Home  ·  Game Manager  ·  Forums  ·  Your Account  
Login
Username

Password

Don't have an account yet? You can create one.

Site Sections
· Home
· Game Manager
· Forums
· Private Messages
· Your Account

Game Manager
· Your games
· Waiting games
· Create new game
· Running games
· Completed games

Recent News

MaBiWeb: Forums

MaBiWeb :: View topic - New bug with ship tiles?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New bug with ship tiles?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> Samurai
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
peterh



Joined: Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 8:37 pm    Post subject: New bug with ship tiles? Reply with quote

In a recent game Nausicaa in Round 3 I played two tiles, a 3-buddha followed by a 1-ship. Both adjacent to a buddha piece. I should have won the buddha, but the program seems to have disregarded the ship because I played it second, and so the buddha was incorrectly shown as tied.

Is this a known bug, I wonder?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 919
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's a strict application of the rules: a village/city is scored as soon as all adiacent land tiles are filled. Ships must be played before the scoring.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
peterh



Joined: Oct 11, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply.

I'm inclined to think it's not so much "a strict application of the rules" as an incorrect one!

The rules imply pretty strongly (to me at least) that all tiles are placed before captures are resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaBi
Site Admin


Joined: Jan 01, 2006
Posts: 919
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The rules are very clear that figures are captured when all adiacent land spaces are filled. Of course when playing face to face there is no need to strictly enforce this rule and so it doesn't make much difference whether you play first the land and then the ship or the other way around.
Here, when you place the last surrounding land tile, the server can't know whether you are going to play a ship or not, so the only way to allow it would be to delay the scoring after the end of your turn (like you do in face to face games). It could be implemented in this way, but in this case a player would not be able to see how the capturing is resolved until it's too late to reset. Let's say that between these two alternatives I prefer how it is implemented now, you just have to play the ship before the land (and in case you forget you can see the mistake before clicking 'End of turn').
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MaBiWeb Forum Index -> Samurai All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Forums ©

 
MaBiWeb copyright 2006 by MaBi
PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi.
Page Generation: 0.06 Seconds